More skittles!

From Patrick McElderry

 

This is the famous “Skittles Touch” commercial.  The main idea behind this commercial is that it follows the tagline of “Touch the rainbow, taste the rainbow”.  In this case, they take the first part of the tagline to an extreme.   I found this to be very entertaining, and extremely ceative for a number of reasons.  First off, Skittles is known for pushing the envelope of “bizarre” with their commercials as of late and this is no exception.  Secondly, it puts a funny spin on how Skittles makes people feel, as well as how people react.  Something else that I thought was a good advertising technique that this ad utilized was that it makes you sympathize with a character, therefore making you more involved with the product as opposed to just displaying an image with the logo on it (completely tasteless, completely bland, completely boring).  Skittles comes up with a great ad for all of us to enjoy once again.  

 

 

3 Responses

  1. I agree with Pat that this commercial pushed the envelope with being bizarre. However, I think that this commercial was effective in also combining the bizarre theme with humor and an emotional appeal. The fact that the man was turning everything into skittles grabbed your attention and the emotions behind what the man was saying kept your attention to discover what was coming next. Overall, I believe that this ad was a success!

  2. I think this has to be my favorite Skittles ad. The Chocolate Skittles ad had its funny moments, but I feel like this much more entertaining. It makes me want to eat Skittles or at least have the power to turn things into Skittles, but at will of course. I felt really bad for the character but thought it was funny at the same time, and I think that’s a really hard thing to accomplish in a commercial. Congratulations Skittles! I will always love you.

  3. This commercial is one of my favorites. I know that skittles has a lot of crazy random commercials, but this commercial is by far the best. Patrick makes a great point when he discusses how the touch commercial represents the tagline “touch the rainbow.” It brings that tagline to a physical realm. Way to go Pat!

Leave a Reply

