Mac Attack! Not really.

From Anna Henton:

I like this ad because it clearly makes a statement that macs are now compatible with PC networks, but they also have an advantage because they work seamlessly with media devices such as digital cameras. The PC is characterized as boring, geeky, and over 30 and wears a suit; the mac is cool and casual; and the girl is well, like the camera, “from japan.” I like how the PC says “good day” in Italian to a girl who is obviously asian. The point is that he’s focused on business needs and clueless about home users’ wishes. This is part of a whole series of Mac ads that start out with two guys saying “I’m a mac” and “I’m a PC.”

2 Responses

  1. When these commercials began airing, I had to fight hard to suppress the urge to throw my Macbook from my third story window. These ads make me so angry! They make me feel like I’m back in 6th grade and Steve Jobs is telling me who is and, more importantly, who ISN’T allowed to sit at the cool kids table. I guess I just have issues with companies who bash their competitors. I know it’s legal, but something about it just doesn’t feel right.

  2. This is the first time I’ve seen this commercial and to be honest I think it is hilarious! I have owned both a PC and a Mac in my 2 year long college career and my Mac is SO much better and easier to use. All the things that Mac says in these type of commercials are true. Even though they do bash PCs, they make good buying points.

Leave a Reply

