Idea Book Comes to Life

From Heather Morgan:

This commercial is a perfect example of “Don’t sell me running shoes….make me want to run.” When I buy running shoes, I only marginally think about the actual shoe. I think about myself in the shoes on a long hill, on a foggy morning, out of breath and standing at the top. Companies like Nike and now New Balance are playing into this ideal for runners, so rather than telling me how their shoe will cushion my foot when I run, they show me images of a runner conquering the world with his love/hate relationship with running. Hm, I kind of feel like going on a run now.

2 Responses

  1. I absolutely love these commercials. I ran track in middle school and high school as well as cross country in high school and the description the commercial gives of running is dead on. It really resonates with me because I can truly relate to both the feelings of love and hate toward my sports. And while I am brand loyal to Nike (I have been wearing the same style since 7th grade) I can see how this ad can make one want to buy a pair of New Balance running shoes, or at the very least hit the pavement.

  2. This is a really great commercial. It’s not over the top and doesn’t make exaggerated claims. I was not a serious runner until about three years ago. Before that, I would buy whatever random athletic shoe was on sale or looked nice. After I started running seriously, i developed some knee problems and needed to buy shoes that were measured to support my tread. After seeing this commercial, I correlate the idea that the New Balance brand takes running seriously to my own feelings about running gear.

Leave a Reply

