Injured, Injured Bad

From Brianna Pinder

 

I had to post this commercial on our blog because it is one of my favorites.  I think this kid is one of the cutest, most entertaining children I’ve ever seen in a commercial.  He puts a smile on my face every time I see it!  Though I think I only saw this commercial on TV once or twice, it has remained on YouTube for a while now.  Though what he has to say doesn’t have much to do with the product, I will always associate him with Trigon BlueCross BlueShield.  There were a few other ads in this campaign that featured children in a “kids say the darndest things” way.  I think these ads are effective because they might make parents think of their own funny experiences with their children, or make people reminisce about funny memories from their childhood.  Perhaps the message that Trigon is trying to portray by featuring these children in their commercials is that they hold family values in high esteem and that they will take good care of children.

 

 

Here is another entertaining ad featuring the same little guy:


 

 

 

3 Responses

  1. i’m writing this comment AGAIN at 3 because when i checked back to see if anyone else commented on Brianna’s ad posting…mine wasnt there. ugh.

    I completely agree with her description of the advertisements. Its a perfectly effective series of ads that really dont have much to do with the company at all! the ads give you a sense of children having a lot of character and complete honesty, and I suppose that Blue cross is trying to show you that they have those same values and pleasantness about them.

    Hopefully it’ll post this time.
    Reis

  2. This is the cutest ad I have seen in awhile. Echoing the thoughts of others, it does seem to have absolutely nothing to do with the product, but does indirectly. I think that this type of technique is similar to what we were discussing in regards to commercials with puppies. Just as we are drawn to these cute commercials with puppies, we seem to be drawn to the cute little kids that are depicted in a number of other commercials. What seems to set this commercial apart is that it may trigger a parental instinct in parents and make them consider the product more.

  3. I really like this commercial as well. It is very simple but also very interesting to the viewer. It reminds me a lot of the show “Kid’s say the darnest things” with Bill Cosby. The kid is cute and entertaining so people watch and it is some-what associated to the message. I think it gives some resonance to the show and also to little kids in general. The music is also a happy tune which gives people a good feeling when watching the video. I think it would be heard to make a good concept with a health company because there are a lot of different people that use their services but I think they did a good job with this campaign.

Leave a Reply

