Sprint

From Camille Van Duyn:

 

Sprint Commercial #1: http://youtube.com/watch?v=lW_9SYaWAQg&feature=related

Sprint Commercial #2: http://youtube.com/watch?v=G4O4f6FKYyc

These are two very different ads for Sprint phones, and one is a 60 second spot and the other is a 30 second one. The first one takes a more serious approach, and tries to draw viewers in by using nostalgia, and telling them to think back to their childhood.  While the commercial does use some cool special effects, I thought that the effects were only cool for the first 10 or so seconds, then they started to get really repetitive. I thought that overall the commercial was kind of boring, and it honestly didn’t hold my attention for the whole 60 seconds.  

 

On the other hand, the second commecial uses humor and a guys locker room setting to convey its message. When I first saw this commercial at the Superbowl a few years ago, I immediately paid attention, because well, it was a Superbowl ad, but also, you can immediately tell that it isn’t just going to be another phone comparison commercial. There’s something about the way the commercial is filmed and acted out that immediately makes me want to watch it.  Personally, I think this commercial is very effective, and it still makes me laugh every time I watch it! 

One Response

  1. I could watch that first Sprint commercial over and over. I think it’s awesome and I would love to learn how to capture that footage on camera. I think this one is unusual because it promotes art and there are few advertisements that do that. This ad is also great because it creates a message that is more about life than the product. I don’t know how effective the commercial is; it didn’t make me buy the product, but its message sticks in my head (as well as the pretty lights.)
    The second is funny, but in my opinion, it’s humor is common in a lot of tv ads.

Leave a Reply

