Target issues?

From Valerie Riffe:

I know this Kool-Aid commercial has been running recently, and it upsets me every time I see it. I can’t believe that Kool-Aid would run such a racist and stereotypical commercial as this one. What’s funny about Kool-Aid is that not just African Americans like Kool-Aid. As an African American I find this commercial extremely racist, and I know others do too. I really wonder if people knew that this commercial wouldn’t sit well with African Americans because it makes me not want to buy Kool-Aid.

Someone else recorded this commercial from their TV, so the quality is pretty blurry.

This 50s commercial link proves that Kool-Aid was marketed to white people. I don’t know how this drink turned into a stereotypical drink for African Americans.

Leave a Reply

