Max Ponders Offensiveness

From Max Radi:

 

 

Today in class, we briefly discussed stereotypes and offensiveness in advertisements.  When advertisers use these strategies they can offend a certain group in the population. In my first advertisement is a television commercial for Klondike, which stereotypes men. I am not an advocate for men’s rights, but I don’t find this commercial humorous and it turns me off to the brand. When does stereotyping become too much. I’d also like to note that this ad is a 15 second spot and was followed by another 15 second ad by Klondike with the same male stereotype. Is it me or is this commercial bad? 

 

]

 

I wanted to use this second advertising to talk about offensive advertising. This ad was taking down after a ton of people found it offensive. Most believe the image depicts rape and violence towards women. The woman is in a submissive position and there are five men around her ready to take advantage of her. In my opinion, even though Dolce & Gabbana are known for their risque advertisements, I think this one crosses the line. What do you think?

 

 

One Response

  1. I definitely agree with you about both of these ads. The concept of the first ad would be much better if it was executed much differently. Like for instance if Dave keeping his eyes on his wife was a struggle he was having personally, it would be much more funny. Instead, the ad assumes that we’re all male chauvinists who only see women as objects.

    The second ad is completely tasteless. It totally plays to the some guys drugged up a girl and now they’re going to run a train on her. Honestly, I think this might be the most offensive print ad I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

